Read history tour reviews

Welcome to this page dedicated to the hundreds of reviews that passengers of Procom's Beyond Band of Brothers Tours have left over the years. The reviews are listed most current to oldest, but you can also filter to show comments in each category they rated or by the type of the tour as well.


To contact the passenger who authored a particular review, simply click on the “please, put me in touch” button and fill out the form on the following page. We will contact you directly with details shortly afterwards. Feel free to contact more than one author.


We firmly believe that where you go becomes who you are and look forward to welcoming you on one of our historical tours in the future.


Travel with Procom and the rest is history...

profil
Mr. Richard Kunicki
Billerica , Massachusetts

12-day London to Normandy review

Top self! Better than expected.

The trip of a life time. I liked being on the go morning to night. I have been telling everyone about the high quality of this trip. Thanks again to Robert. It's the people like him that make all the difference.

Great diversity of meals.

Robert was the best. He made the whole tour excellent.

Details...

Customer service
9.7

Hotel
9.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.9

Guide
9.3

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.7
Excellent
November 7, 2018
profil
Ms. Susan Schostag
Navarre, Florida

12-day London to Normandy review

The hotel in Bayeaux was very small in that I had to almost slide along the wall to that side of the bed. We had to back into the toilet to close the door. The two evening meals were not the best; bland, uninspiring food, even the apple dessert was mostly not apple.

If I had questions, I would send an e-mail and they were promptly answered. There was very good information in our bags. I had a concern about the time of our return flight at deGaulle; I sent Sue an e-mail and she said others were having the same issue so the time we left Bayeaux was moved earlier. That was so appreciated. It was easy to navigate the different steps requested under My Trips; all that in one place.

The overall tour was professional and well-planned. The stopping points all combined to tell a great story and gave such a sense of history. There is nothing that we lacked or needed; maybe just more time here or there. It was a superb tour in every way and we have been telling our family and friends how great the tour and the tour company was. We look forward to taking another tour.

The meals in the London portion were superb; delightful and different locations for lunch like the Sunday lunch - wow; a variety of meals and locations in the evening. Breakfasts at the hotel were so good with many choices as well as the two evening meals. The Bayeaux hotel breakfasts were not bad, the lunch in Arromanches was not that great for either choice; the lunch location near St Marie du Mont was very good with a fabulous location; the dinner in Bayeaux after visiting the cathedral (thank you) was very good; but the hotel dinner meals were not that great especially considering the choices we had in London. Of course, the locations were totally different but feel that the hotel could 'up their game' in their meal selection and preparation. Overall, it was very good.

The motor coach was very comfortable. It was great to be able to watch a movie while going longer distances like to Portsmouth and Bletchley Park. There was good leg room and room to store a backpack. The complimentary water was enjoyed by all.

Again, with the rain, wind, and cold, it was harder to 'feel' the sense and significance of this place of history. I liked that it wasn't touristy; it is really a sacred place where so many died.

So many monuments; each told its own story. It all was visually stunning. The museum was so interesting.

The 'old' bridge surrounded by the glider and military equipment was visually beautiful; a compelling piece of history that took place there and remembered.

We had enough time to go into the tunnels and to walk around the immense area and buildings.

Very good; it looked like people just walked away after the war. Tour guide was very knowledgable.

Just superb! We had enough time to walk around the grounds, into the mansion and huts; time to read the displays, etc. It was a highlight of the tour.

So immense but we had time to go into all of the hangars and smaller building displays. Lunch at the cafeteria was great; good food and atmosphere.

Wished we would have had a bit more time but the tour guide was really great bringing to life some of the men who are buried there. It was a visually beautiful place but quite a somber feel. The ground were beautifully kept; we thanked staff who were outside working. Such a beautiful and peaceful resting place.

So much history that took place there; history was wellpreserved. The musuem was really great, a tribute to a great war leader.

Such a sense of history in this house; felt that the map room kept the feel of the 1940's and what was accomplished there.

Really a wonderful and interesting museum. The location is fitting because of the significance to the entire Operation Overlord. Again, the tour guide was so knowledgable. The tapestry panels were stunning.

We wished he would have been available all three days, not just two. He is a walking encyclopedia of information.

It was such a powerful place; reminded me of Arlington. The tour guide was so informative. The location is stunning. We were there for Taps; the veterans standing around us snapped to attention as Taps was played and the flag lowered. The tears just flowed.

Sadly, it was pouring rain with heavy wind and cold so didn't get to 'enjoy' that somber location. But the tour guide was very informative while we were sheltering in the bunker. He had a lot of information and a lot of pictures to show. I read more after we returned home.

Arromances is a lovely place; again, so much history here. Liked the remnants of the Mulberry Harbor and the sense of history all around the harbor and grounds. The cinema experience is a stunning experience but maybe too much going on all around to truly enjoy all that was showing.

The German bunkers really made this location come alive; what the landing troops faced. The museum was really good; the river of poppies is visually stunning. The Canadians are proud of their place in D-Day history.

The location of the batteries and bunkers really showed its significance to D-Day and beyond. It is very haunting to walk around this rural area; the scene of significance to the time.

By the third day, Barry had warmed up and became more outgoing. Sue was a hard act to follow. There were 38-39 of us; not so obsessive about counting heads. He was approachable but feel that he will grow into his role.

Stunning location; the story of the bagpiper by our tour guide made me look up his story after returning home. The memorials were appropriate and somber.

So glad we were able to see both St Maire du Mont and St Mere Eglise; so much history in both locations. We loved seeing the American flag flying so prominently. The churches were glorious. The airborne museum was really, really good.

We were given a lot of time, too much really, at this location. The museum has a lot to see; enjoyed going upstairs to look at the displays.

Sue was the absolute best. She so obviously cared about each of us and was relentless in making sure we were fed and comfortable. She inspired us to be on time each and every time we had to be on the bus; some people called her Mom which is indeed a compliment. She was forever counting heads to ensure we were all where we should be.

Rob was clearly comfortable and enjoyable to listen to.

It was a beautiful sunny and blue sky day. We saw so many London landmarks on the journey.

We didn't have time to go to the upper level. The lower level of the museum was superb; the view of the Channel was stunning.

He was late both mornings which started things off on the wrong foot. On the second day, he went off the road to the shoulder but recovered. That was jarring. He did not seem personable.

Very professional looking and in nature. He acted competently and gave the feeling he was professional in all aspects. The trip to Paris was enjoyable and he expertly navigated the city to the airport.

He expertly navigated the city streets and beyond in spite of where the steering wheel was and the counter traffic system in England.

Details...

Customer service
9.3

Hotel
7.5

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.3

Guide
10.0

Transportation
8.8

Procom overall
9.5

9.2
Excellent
October 30, 2018
profil
Mr. James Paul
Lexington , Georgia

12-day London to Normandy review

Loved it GOing to tour again

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
5.5

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.1

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.2
Excellent
October 14, 2018
profil
Mr. Fred Mcgowan
North Las Vegas, Nevada

12-day London to Normandy review

I don't know how you prepare someone with the intense travel schedule involved. I/we wanted to see everything on the schedule and loved it but we were absolutely worn out at the end of each day. This was our first experience with a coach tour of any kind and it was an eye opener. This is not a negative comment. Could have used a day of rest or an added day - spread it out? Hey, bottom line, we loved it.

Even as exhausting as it was, I would do it all over again! This was something I had on "my bucket list"! I NEEDED to visit Normandy to thank and honor our veterans for allowing us the future we have. That being said, your coordinators and guides were so knowledgeable and personal. They painted a historical picture of the times and events that took place with their narrative. If someone really wants an in depth look at this period in history, this is the tour I would and will recommend. Thank you Procom, thank you Sue and Robert and all the others!

OMG! Great drivers!

We were able to meet an airborne vet. I think the 101st. WOW!

I'm waiting for his book! If he ever writes one. Such great emphasis on the individual service men and women. Loved this gentleman.

Had the honor of meeting a British vet. Very emotional for both of us. So few left.

Where to begin. If Sue was the "mother hen", Robert was the father. With Robert we got 3 managers for the price of one. This made it SO much more fun! Loved them! I wish them all the best in their futures!

Everyone was referring to her as "our mother hen". She was fantastic. Kept us together and organized. Had answers to any questions we had. Loved her!

SO knowledgeable about so much. Great guy!

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
10.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.9

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

10
Excellent
October 14, 2018
profil
Mr. Eric Wright
Hickory Creek, Texas

12-day London to Normandy review

The room size at the Hotel Mercure Omaha Beach was smaller than I would have liked but the room was clean; the bed size adequate and comfortable and I do realize that hotel rooms in Europe are smaller than what we expect in America.

From start to finish and incredibly well organized, thought out and throughly planned tour. I don't think I could have seen half of what I did if I tried to plan this on my own

I don't know how they knew the roads and shortcuts that they did!

The Absolute BEST!!!

It brought to life the movie "THE LONGEST DAY".

Wonderful, except the numbers of tourists present at the same time. A suggestion I might offer is to see this the very first thing in the morning so perhaps there aren't as many people as in the later afternoon.

This to me was a little disappointing. I recognize the historical significance but in comparison with the other locations we saw it isn't in the same category.

Top notch professional

Probably the most emotionally moving of the whole tour.

I liked that it was staffed by Canadians; this gave a perspective that I was otherwise unaware of.

Just Wonderful, an incredible personality, extremely kind and thoughtful.

The Absolute BEST!!!

This to me was one of the highlights of the tour; I only wish we had more time at this location.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
9.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.4

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.8
Excellent
October 5, 2018
profil
Ms. Sandra Vance
Cashmere, Washington

12-day London to Normandy review

More information on drop off airport .

The London hotel toon could be confusing .

Details...

Customer service
9.0

Hotel
7.0

8
Very Good
October 4, 2018
profil
Mr. Charles Massler
Winston-salem, North Carolina

12-day London to Normandy review

Very satisfied.

You should state that the bus has a toilet facility. I would rate the ‘walking’ requirement for the age of most participants as moderate and, at many locations, not geared toward those with mobility issues - tunnels, underground facilities, Pointe du Hoc, beaches, etc. my wife and I did well, but this was not clearly noted.

Comprehensive ... I saw everything I wanted to see with clear explanation and understanding.

Advise the availability of a small WC facility on the bus.

Sue was super!

Details...

Customer service
9.0

Hotel
8.0

Meals
9.0

Sights
8.9

Guide
9.5

Transportation
7.0

Procom overall
9.5

8.7
Very Good
October 4, 2018
profil
Ms. Roberta Currie
Glen Ellyn, Illinois

12-day London to Normandy review

Instructions on meeting guide if we did not land in terminal 2

Very thorough

Details...

Customer service
9.0

Hotel
6.5

Meals
6.0

Sights
8.3

Guide
10.0

Transportation
7.5

Procom overall
9.0

8
Very Good
October 4, 2018
profil
Mr. Roger Ramos
Lincoln, Nebraska

12-day London to Normandy review

If we are talking about Robert from Budapest, he was nothing short of amazing. Although I felt I was a thorn in his side from day one. Despite a few hiccups, all of them my fault, he maintained a high level of professionalism. He was also instamental in setting up my arrangements at Normandy, so I could honor my uncle. Despite me inadvertently disappearing, because I was so engrossed with the history locations, he treated everyone with a high level of respect.

Very informative and jam packed with more information than I could absorbe. The guest tours who aided us in England, Frnace and at the RAF location were knowledgeable and professional... sometimes. One of the guides kept slamming the president of the United States. Another brought to my attention that the memorial crosses cost the American Taxpayers $2000.00 and why we needed such fancy markers. Other than that it was a quality tour. Despite the two negative events, I would still choose BBofB as my tour option.

I realized that the tour continued to Germany. I was curious if I could continue with the tour short notice. Robert informed me later that one of the individuals was not going forward with the tour and I could possibly sub in, but normally it was not possible. It would be nice to be able to continue with the tour on a last minute add in. Knowledge of possible construction. At Wembly Park hotel,when I arrived I thought it was located in a bad part of London. This was not the case, but a heads up would have been nice.

Very quick to respond to my questions, and the travel agency kicked butt on my airline tickets.

I have been recommending people to your tour group. Very well thought out tour!

I wish that while in London we ate at more British style meals. Many of the locations wee chain and the food was nothing spectacular and the service was misserable

Drivers were amazing! I saw one your bus with a stocked up bar and nibbles. That would have been real nice to have.

Thank you Robert for your time and patience with me. I know I was not the ideal tourist. I appreciate you helping me at Normandy with my uncle and helping get the Paris situation figured out. If I knew your address, you would get a Christmas present every year. If I take a tour again with you, I promise to be on time and on my best behavior. Thank you!

Who would of thought my home state of Nebraska had markers there.

Excellent, And had some truths debunked.

Did not get to tour the castle, which was a want on my list.

I could not take enough pictures of this place.

After understanding how the enigma machine worked, we were again rushed to see most of the location. Well worth the stop.

Got to enjoy some of it, but in the end I had to rush and missed a lot of the historical presentations.

Glad I got to see this house. Did not care so much about the presentor. He was bashing America and the current president. After his presentation, I felt that England really did not care for us being there and the loss of Americans was irrelevant.

Okay, but the fish and chips place with a blast. I would have preferred a trip out to the forts in the water.

I could talk postive about Robert all day long.

This was my goal for this tour. Well worth it.

Could have been shorter.

I don't cry very much, but I did this time.

Did not realize Candada was a key player. Very informative.

Amazing these have survived this long.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
9.0

Meals
7.0

Sights
7.6

Guide
6.0

Transportation
9.0

Procom overall
10.0

8.4
Very Good
August 11, 2018
profil
Mr. James Mandeville
Columbus, Montana

12-day London to Normandy review

We were mostly very pleased with Procom. There was a scheduling issue that cropped up during the tour that caused us extra expense and inconvenience that I believe could have / should have been caught earlier in the process.

Both were very nice accommodations. Our breakfasts were outstanding, the rooms, though small, were clean and efficient and well maintained throughout our stays. The staff at both locations were polite, professional, personable, helpful.... very good.

Very good... even with our scheduling glitch they were very helpful.

It was an outstanding tour and filled all of our expectations. Yes, I would recommend Procom highly and will use them again.

The food was outstanding. The time it took to get orders taken and meals served was sometimes extraordinarily long.

The bus was very comfortable even on our days of longer travel. The drivers were amazing. Negotiating London in a bus with left side steering was nothing short of a miracle.

Almost all of the on site guides were outstanding with only one exception. The gentleman at the Royal Air Force Museum was not up to par with the others.

Sue was a delight.

Same great guide and great explanations and history lessons.

One of our favorites. Yet, a bit rushed.

Fascinating... and very well explained by our guide.

Great guide and mind boggling in its complexity.

Another favorite...

Humbling....

Robert did a great job. He was very organized, personable, helpful... etc. etc. etc.

My comment throughout this evaluation will be similar. I enjoyed each and every site we visited but often there wasn't enough time to adequately take in all there was to see.

Both were outstanding. Fun, engaging, interested, knowledgeable....

Humbling and emotional. Glad we were there for the lowering of the flags and taps....

Again... our guide was outstanding.

Details...

Customer service
9.3

Hotel
10.0

Meals
9.0

Sights
9.8

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.7
Excellent
July 25, 2018
profil
Mr. Gerard Cormier
Elizabethtown, Kentucky

12-day London to Normandy review

Ms. Watkins was a dream to work with!

You really seem to have covered everything in your brochure and what I 'overlooked' was fully explained by Ms. Watkins!

Wembley - didn't like the fact that they kept removing the room key which shut off the air conditioning - after touring I would have liked to come back to a cool room. Mercure - small room and it was hard to get into/out of the shower. Both facilities were clean and I felt safe at both.

It is a FIRST CLASS operation from start to finish!

I would recommend this tour to anyone who has an interest in history, specially WW II and the D-Day invasion because I was truly able to get a feel for how difficult it was for them to get ashore at Omaha, Point Du Hoc - the beach at Omaha is much larger than I thought it was (we were there at low tide!) and at the Pointe - it's one thing to read how tall it is but another to actually see what they had to scale! I always aid I'd like to go to England, visit the War rooms, SHAEF HQ then ferry to the beaches and you had it all wrapped up in one tour.

I truly was amazed at the quality and the quantity of the meals! I actually skipped dinner one evening because I was still stuffed from lunch! The restaurants in the London area were a bit slow but when a large group comes in that could happen anywhere. The 'box' lunches - one sandwich would have been plenty with the fruit, juice, energy bar and muffin - very few were able to eat the second sandwich! I like a salad with some meals and it was being offered, mentioned it to Robert and here comes a salad! Really outstanding restaurants and the food was great!

The bus was ALWAYS clean, the drivers were ALWAYS courteous and friendly. I couldn't believe how they were able to navigate the narrow, crowded streets in both countries!

Robert - he has a lot of responsibility for someone so young but he handled everything just fine. I know of many request that he personally handled for various tour members including myself. Sue - was her first outing (as I understand it) in the London area and she did great, interacting with the group and answering questions etc.

Amazed they kept the original bridge when they replaced it with the newer one! It would have been scraped here in the states!

Private explanation to our group of the Engima machine - outstanding!

Had never heard about the tapestry!

He did an OUTSTANDING job of keeping us on track and getting us into and out of places, clearing customs etc. OUTSTANDING!

Can't say a single negative about Ruth, EXCELLENT and very easy to understand. Christophe - at times he drone on too long about a specific subject - I truly believe he has so very much knowledge about the area and the war and he wants to give us as much as he can! He was excellent otherwise!

SOBERING!

Wasn't crazy about the cinema but the harbor and town were EXCELLENT! I had no idea that so much remained of the Mulberry's!

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
7.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.3

Guide
10.0

Transportation
9.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.3
Excellent
July 18, 2018
profil
Dr. Leyla Moossavi
Alma, Michigan

12-day London to Normandy review

Would have preferred London hotel closer to central part of the city but understand limitations of large tour group

I enjoyed the tour immensely. It was well run and the food/accommodations were excellent. I would recommend the tour.

Food was overall excellent. My only concern was the wait time in London was so long that it cut into sightseeing/museum time. The French restaurants with their fixed menus were efficient.

USB ports at sears are nice to recharge phones between sites. A minor issue

Both were excellent.

Very helpful in accommodating my specific side trips and food restrictions.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
9.0

Meals
8.0

Sights
9.4

Guide
10.0

Transportation
8.5

Procom overall
10.0

9.3
Excellent
July 16, 2018
profil
Mr. Herman Ross
Auburn, Washington

12-day London to Normandy review

She was able to answer all my questions on the spot during my first call, and everything that I thought of afterwards too.

Very complete. I especially appreciated the suggested reading and viewing list.

NLW: very nice room and great location for where we went. Occasionally, dining room service a bit slow. HNB: excellent location, combo tub/shower would be awkward for many to climb in and out of.

Truly, absolutely no complaints or unmet expectations.

I was delighted with the overall value of the tour experience and look forward to continuing the trail of the Band of Brothers in the future. You can be sure BBoB has my highest recommendation to anyone who asks.

The Dover restaurant seemed utterly unprepared for us, notwithstanding they had virtually no other diners when we arrived. The lunch stop in Portsmouth was a stand-out, as was the lunch stop on Utah Beach day. Except for Dover lunch, all our meals were tasty and inviting.

As I'm sure you'll hear from the other participants, both Zoltan and Peter were solid professionals that provided worry free transportation with quiet excellence.

His French viewpoint added great value, and he was everything one could want a local guide to bring.

As with the Juno sights, it added valuable insight to the totality of Overlord.

I'll include the BoB memorial at Capel-le-Fern when I consider this one of the highlights of the tour.

Another great balance of time available to things to see. Really added to my understanding of the BoB.

Simply because I'm only tangentally interested in the code breaking aspects of the way, this site didn't hold as much interest for me. The site itself gets high marks for interpretative material in the exhibits.

Absolutely not to be missed for understanding the BoB as well as the air war over Europe. Great Cold Way exhibits too.

Very moving. Highest marks to the Assistant Superintendent (I think) who gave the tour.

Another great selection for a site to put the BoB in perspective. Once more, very good choice of how much time we had there.

One of those things you'd likely never see unless you were with some like BBoB. The curator's talk was outstanding.

As noted earlier for his tour-guiding, Robert was exceptionally well organized and always ready to answer any question. He's very personable and represents BBoB well.

Appropriate time allowed for the self-guided tour. While not at all related to the BoB, it was a great way to expand on our visit to Portsmouth.

Not as expansive as I would have guessed. I had ample (but not too much) time to see and read about the exhibits.

I would have missed so much if I had not added this to my BoB tour. So memorable! I have to put at the top of this section the time we spent at Brecourt Manor. One more example of value BBoB brings that others can't match. The selection of the many available museums available suited the three days we had perfectly. Another key experience was standing on the beach at about the tide line faced by our troops on that day, seeing the bluffs over the beach, then walking up them to the memorial at the top. Absolutely not an experience to miss for anything.

Not everything can get 5 full stars. This would have added little value without the 360 degree video experience included in the tour.

Short visit but to the point. Even though we were a US tour group, adding the British and Canadian beaches truly rounded out my understanding of Overlord.

It added a excellent value to my understanding of how London is laid out. I also appreciated the flexibility we had to do our own touring afterward.

Not only did she do an outstanding job in bringing context and understanding to the BoB memorial and Dover castle, but the way she engaged with us on the bus trip out and back to Wembly was equally valuable. A real keeper!

Very knowledgeable, and also very open to letting tour members add what they knew about the sites we saw.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
8.0

Meals
9.0

Sights
9.5

Guide
9.7

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.5
Excellent
October 4, 2017

Video reviews

Panzer Museum

Central Europe
Remembrance tour

Third Reich Tour

Andrew Meyer and
Shannon Minnett

Darrell Downs

Passengers from 2012

D-Day and beyond

Patricia Francoeur and
Terry Brown

Nancy Poll

Christina Hefel