Read history tour reviews

Welcome to this page dedicated to the hundreds of reviews that passengers of Procom's Beyond Band of Brothers Tours have left over the years. The reviews are listed most current to oldest, but you can also filter to show comments in each category they rated or by the type of the tour as well.


To contact the passenger who authored a particular review, simply click on the “please, put me in touch” button and fill out the form on the following page. We will contact you directly with details shortly afterwards. Feel free to contact more than one author.


We firmly believe that where you go becomes who you are and look forward to welcoming you on one of our historical tours in the future.


Travel with Procom and the rest is history...

profil
Ms. Jan Finegan
Darien, Georgia

11-day Italian Campaign review

I was satisfied with all hotels; however, having air conditioning would have been nice, though it wasn't too uncomfortable.

I was satisfied with all meals; there was just so much food at times, I felt guilty at leaving so much uneaten. Breakfasts were especially nice.

Completely satisfied with guides.

Drivers were great; motor coach comfortable, especially since we were not crowded.

Camille did a great job; she has a good disposition for dealing with the group.

Very informative tour. Just what I wanted. We visited sites I would not have seen because of a personal lack of knowledge of the area.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
9.8

Meals
10.0

Sights
10.0

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

10
Excellent
October 31, 2016
profil
Mr. Steve Tatham
Manchester, New Hampshire

11-day Italian Campaign review

Very painless process.

They kept me in the loop. I also got to meet the tour guides thru the Internet prior to the tour.

Not that I can recall. There were no hidden surprises.

They were all good. Catania and Rome hotels were a little bigger and I had a balcony.

For the most part meals were very good.

Max and Marlene very good and knowledgeable. Both had a tremendous passion for their jobs. Marlene also had a very friendly humorous way about her. I had no issues with any of the others. The two mentioned to me were in a league of their own.

Not what I was looking for in a museum.

We were able to tour the bombed out houses and that was very good.

Five Stars.

Very comfortable ride, but I and several experienced internet issues.

It was an easy group and she did an excellent job communicating with us. She has a tremendous passion for her job.

Combined some WW2 and other historical sites that I was happy to see.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
8.8

Meals
9.0

Sights
8.5

Guide
9.0

Transportation
9.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.2
Excellent
October 28, 2016
profil
Mr. Joseph Sinibaldi
Ballwin, Missouri

11-day Italian Campaign review

Last hotel room was ok but there was no air circulating and it was warm.

Outstanding job

Itinerary was very good

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
7.8

Meals
10.0

Sights
8.2

Guide
8.5

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.2
Excellent
October 28, 2016
profil
Mr. Louis Caban
Media, Pennsylvania

11-day Italian Campaign review

very satisfied

sufficient

More overview on the Italian campaign which could have been provided during the long bus trips. A lot of people don't do the reading suggested and therefore are uninformed. Consequently they miss a lot.

Rooms are small which I know can't be helped. Ergife hotel had very thin walls, the wall paper in the rooms and hallways was peeling. This was definitely NOT a first class hotel. The other hotels were as advertised and satisfactory. Plaza Hotel lacked sufficient room lighting.

Glad no pasta was served. The food was good in preperetion, presentation and taste. The food had good variety and tasted good.

guides had good knowledge and were articulate

Best part was seeing things other tours don't show.

experienced drivers remove anxiety of accidents

first class tour manager. kept his calm in crisis and was able to handle difficult situations with a calm demeanor, a sign of a true professional

good tour. delivered what promised. would recommend.

Details...

Customer service
9.8

Hotel
7.5

Meals
9.0

Sights
10.0

Guide
9.9

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.5
Excellent
October 30, 2015
profil
Mr. David Ginn
Bentonville, Arkansas

11-day Italian Campaign review

Avoid the Ergife Palace on future tours (I think most tour members have stated that!). They had subpar food, turned the AC off for the season, had long waits on the elevators due to legions of other tour groups, and were a long drive from central Rome. I really enjoyed the Edra Palace Hotel, the other two were smaller and likely the best in their geographic regions.

The lunches out were excellent, breakfast buffets usually good, the dinners at the hotels were usually good (except for mass produced food for tour groups at Ergife Palace) - but then I'm being picky after starting out with a week in Florence!

I was overall pleased with the guides, plus Charlie provided extra input.

Catania was the only dud, but it was raining and flooding the streets, so I didn't see the city at its best. I would have enjoyed more time at Piane delle Orme Museum. One option to save time might be to skip the ruins at Agrigento (a long drive there and back) and instead see the ones that we just drove past at Paestum. This would give more time in the Gela/Licata landing areas.

A very comfortable coach, outstanding drivers in a country with reckless drivers, plus the wi-fi made it easy to stay in touch with family & friends back home.

Charlie did a wonderful job, provided extra insights over meals, kept us on time, and was fun to be around. I hope to see him again on other tours!

I enjoyed the Italy tour and would recommend it to others. I learned a lot about a part of WWII that I knew little about, a thought shared by many on the tour. I think it was particularly exciting for those who had not visited Italy before, as there were more non-military tourist sights than the France/Germany tour, although I enjoyed seeing Rome and Pompeii again! I particularly enjoyed the central Italy portion (Cassino to Anzio) and could have spent a day in the private museum.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
6.2

Meals
7.0

Sights
8.8

Guide
8.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

8.6
Very Good
October 26, 2015
profil
Ms. Judy Englund
Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas

11-day Italian Campaign review

very professional and thorough

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
10.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
10.0

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

10
Excellent
October 24, 2015
profil
Mr. Thomas Stewart
Plymouth, Massachusetts

11-day Italian Campaign review

Our travel plans were handled courteously, professionally and efficiently. All the travel documents were correct and any required instructions were provided in a timely manner.

The amount of information provided gave me confidence in a proper run tour process.

We were "blown away" with the offerings for breakfast at each of the hotels we stayed at, with the exception of the Ergife Palace Hotel in Rome. The other hotels, particularly our hotel in Catania, served exceptional offerings for breakfast and the staffs were extremely pleasant and professional. The same could be said of the evening meals we were served at all but the Ergife in Rome. In so far as our on the road meals, the restaurants chosen were very good and were representative of the regional foods they were known for. In this, our mid-day meals in the restaurants in Rome were also excellent.

I would specifically like to commend the following guides for their excellent presentations: Our Agrigento Guide Marco for keeping our interest with his knowledge of his subject matter and how he showed us particulars of the ground structure and other aspects of the local area. His humor in his delivery of what could be a very dry subject, showed that he was hysterically funny and I very much enjoyed his side comments. Marlena, our Vatican and Colosseum guide was also exceptional in her description of the Sistene Chapel and in her delivery. All enjoyed her very much. A very amusing and personable guide. Our Rome guide, Massimiliano had a very clear knowledge of his subject and interacted very well with the tour group. I liked his rendition of the history of the German Occupation of Rome as I had a personal connection to that aspect of the war through my mother. Unfortunately, while our Pompeii guide was certainly in command of her subject, she tended to get lost in the minutia, and therefore lost part of her audience halfway through the tour of Pompeii. I think she needs to tailor her presentation to the tour group with the realization that Pompeii is a very large and busy place and most of us had a difficult time hearing her above the noise of the other touring groups.

What can I say to add to this tour as I have a great love of Italy? Obviously, some of the sights required much more time than others. Personally, sights like Pompeii needed more time and I feel that perhaps allowing the tour participants an opportunity to explore Pompeii on their own with the option of renting an audio guide, would allow for a better interpretive walking tour, since the site is extremely busy, would be a better alternative to a single tour guide. I think that using the audio system at the Sistene Chapel and Colosseum was ideal, given the number of people present. Perhaps this might have assisted our Pompeii guide. In all of this was our Primary Tour Guide "Charlie." He was spectacular in his care and accounting for the needs of his group. His was tireless in his coordination of events and activities. He showed great stamina and was very relaxed with the group, yet constantly making sure that all of the tour's activities went on ithout a hitch.

Travel by motor coach was exceptionally comfortable. The bus drivers were tremendous in their skill and concern for the safety and well being of the group, and loading the luggage. All were amazed at how deft they were at navigating the many small and congested side streets of Italy. I would give them an A plus!

Charlie was the perfect tour host. Funny, amiable, professional, efficient and quick on his feet at seeking alternative arrangements when things did not go as planned. He kept his cool and showed he knew what he was doing and displayed confidence in all his efforts. I would travel with Charlie again in a heartbeat!

Great that you take the time to listen to your tour patrons. The fact that so many of the tour participants were return customers shows that you are doing something right. I would travel again with Procom.

Who doesn't love Italy? It's a no-brainer. With the exception of the hotel in Rome, this was a great tour. It had everything. Along with the WWII aspect of the tour, the ancient sites and the amount of history available, the climate and scenery, scope of regional foods and the friendliness of the people, one could not lose in choosing this tour. Even if someone was not interested in WWII history, there was certainly something for everyone on this tour.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
8.2

Meals
9.0

Sights
10.0

Guide
9.3

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.5
Excellent
October 19, 2015
profil
Mr. Brian Miller
Ellijay, Georgia

11-day Italian Campaign review

Some were not pleased with the hotel in Rome. Too big. I found it fine. Also towels were an issue. I feel that is just part of what Europe is about.

This would be my one disappointment. There was way too much pork. It felt that every other meal was the same. The pizza was good but not considered a dinner. Maybe I'm wrong but going to Italy I thought there would be a lot more pasta and I was looking forward to that. There was very little. What we got was very good though so I'm not complaining about the quantity or quality. Just the variety.

This is difficult. This tour was very different from the Normandy tour. There just isn't as much to see in Italy as there on the Normandy tour. Not as many memorials and recognizable battle sights. It was nice though to get some non WWII regular tourist sites. That appeals to the less enthusiastic WWII traveler especially if you've never been overseas before. I had been to the Normandy countries numerous times but had never been to Italy.

Charlie was perfect. Right amount of knowledge. Right amount of humor. Right amount of caring to assist us and keep us informed. Only thing to mention for him to improve would be to review the next day activities the day before and advise dress codes and/or suggestions to remind us.

Details...

Customer service
9.5

Hotel
7.5

Meals
6.0

Sights
6.6

Guide
7.3

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

8.1
Very Good
October 18, 2015
profil
Mr. Terry Englund
Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas

11-day Italian Campaign review

Excellent drivers

Charlie is the best!!!!!!!

The tour was very interesting and educational!

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
7.5

Meals
8.0

Sights
9.0

Guide
9.4

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.1
Excellent
October 17, 2015
profil
Mr. Richard Mahoney
Severn, Maryland

11-day Italian Campaign review

All the hotels were basically fine. Plaza - excellent breakfast. But my room had a bath but no shower curtain. Also, hotel didn't have a bar. Mandetta - only one night. No issues. Edra - very nice. But bar a bit sketchy (Maybe the Italians just don't do bars the way we do). Ergife - good food incl breakfast and good bar. Only issue - AC turned off.

No complaints - good choices.

All very good - missed the guide at Agrigento. Pompeii guide OK but ended every word with an "a". Seemed annoyed that so many of the participants departed her tour and went their own way. really enjoyed the Lt. Col. but he should have started with the military buildings.

Loved the Rome Vatican and ancient sites. Not much to see re WWII other than gate that Clark came in through,the Mussolini buildings, Gestapo office and site of the massacre. Anzio beach not so interesting given that the landing was unopposed. San pietro excellent as was Monte cassino and area where we tried to cross the Rapido.

Those guys did great work!! Esp at San Pietro.

Charlie did great. Managed all issues with apparent ease. Very knowledgeable.

I really enjoyed this tour. But probably more because I wanted to see some of Italy than because of the military aspects of it. I got the impression that the allies never really beat the Germans head on. Rather, as allied pressure built up to a certain point, the Germans retreated to new positions. So there were no really distinctive battlefields (such as Omaha Beach in Normandy). Nonetheless, I still think more emphasis could have been placed on the tactical situations - such as the Polish attacks at Monte Cassino - where the German positions were and where the Poles took the most casualties. Same goes for San Pietro Infine - we saw the town but not the actual avenues of the U.S. assault toward the town. Anyway - maybe more emphasis could have been placed on such topics.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
8.0

Meals
8.0

Sights
8.2

Guide
8.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

8.9
Very Good
October 16, 2015
profil
Mr. Randy Owen
Atlanta, Georgia

11-day Italian Campaign review

It would have been nice to have some details (summary or brief)that gave information about the places we would be stopping and touring. If the information could have been from the WWII historical point of what happened or took place that would have been helpful in documenting each site.

Because the group was small we could select our meal and also had the flexibilty to go to local restaurants. This was very nice. We had many choices and I thought the food was very good.

Nandor was an excellent host and guide. When we encountered the problem with the broken window he did everything he could to keep us on track all while dealing with the repair of the van. I felt in that situation he did an excellent job and never missed a beat regarding his duties to us and BOB. As a WWII historian he is very knowledgeable and he did a great job as our driver and host. He was always very positive, upbeat and most of all professional in his interaction with us.

This was my first tour and I can say I enjoyed everything. I know a lot of planning and preparation went into this tour and because of that everything went well. Each day was planned in such a way as you did not feel rushed or short changed because of trying to cover too much. I can only speak regarding Nandor as a guide and host since this was my first trip, but if your other guides are as good as Nandor then I can see why you have such good ratings. I would difinitely recommend your tours to others interested in touring WWII sites.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
8.5

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.3

Guide
8.5

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.5
Excellent
May 18, 2015
profil
Mr. Joseph Pelliccia
Auburn, Maine

11-day Italian Campaign review

Hotel location in Rome was good. Breakfasts were always good.

The guides add a lot to the trip. The guy in Rome was incredible.....

The Mercedes was excellent. Nandor really handled the broken window fantastically as he didn't let it affect our trip at all. He went 'above and beyond' on this issue...he never showed how upset/frustrated he was...always kept his smile!

I leanred a lot about Hungary from Nandor...this was a bonus to my enjoyment of the trip. He was fantastic and I would love to tour with him again.

For a 'history' geek, this trip was fabulous. I was pleasantly surprised as to how much ancient history was included in the package....this was an unexpected bonus. I realize how difficult it is to find museums, statues, and rememberances of the war as Italy lost (unlike in France and Holland). Procom did a great job of finding interesting things for us to see.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
10.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.0

Guide
9.5

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.8
Excellent
May 18, 2015
profil
Ms. Donna Dardeau
Washington, Louisiana

11-day Italian Campaign review

Meals were all very good and Nandor was always checking to make sure we all had what we wanted and he would go out of his way to accommodate us. I really appreciated that because I personally wanted more variety in my meals, mainly more vegetables. If there was one thing I could change it would be to have more choice in what we had, especially for the evening meal where we would have more time. Understandably, time constraints would require that lunch would be limited to a set menu. I will say though that we did have the option of ordering what we wanted on a couple of occasions, and we were allowed as much alcohol beverage as we desired which was nice.

Ok, let me clarify that the female guide we had at the Abbey at Monte Cassino was awesome and I did not have a problem with her student videoing. However, I did not get one thing from our visit to the Museum in Cassino. The sound system was terrible and the museum guide was quiet dull and uninteresting to listen too. Time absolutely wasted. And again, don't waste valuable time driving down to see the Piana delle Orme Museum unless you have a lot of time. We were told we would be able to tour the museum despite them having had a fire the day before, instead we were met by rude people and due to their incompetence we were still unable to see the museum. Because of the time it took to go there, wait around for nothing and then return to Nettuno, we were left with only about an hour to spend at the Sicily-Rome American Cemetary. This was the biggest disappointment of the entire tour for me. I do have to acknowledge that Nandor made it possible for anyone who wanted to return to Nettuno the next day from Rome would be able to, but that left me with having to make the choice to give up also valuable free time in Rome. I choose to stay in Rome and this left me feeling like I did not get to experience the time I needed at the Cemetary to explore, pray for the dead and spend some quiet time there. It was however, a lovely experience having the veterans in our group get the opportunity to lower and fold the flags at closing. And...the Cemetery director was very gracious in allowing us to stay there a good 30 minutes past closing. So, let me just say that I believe most people would like to spend a good 2 to 3 hours there, easily.

For me, being able to talk with the Italian gentleman Christoph Ventura in Gelan and then again the Italian gentleman at San Pietro Infine was something you cannot put a price on nor rate because they were so special. Being able to spend time with these two wonderful men who lived through these experiences and see the pride and hear the passion in their voices will be with me forever and I really hope they and more like them will be around for future tours.

It was an amazing tour. I really had no expectations going in. Personally, I received more than I could have hoped for and I am very thankful and grateful to all of the people involved and all the people I met along this great journey. I would recommend this tour because of Nandor, Arpad, the guides, their knowledge and expertise and willingness to make this tour work out well for each and every one of us. Equally important, I recommend this tour because of the WWII journey you take when you travel this Italian Campaign.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
8.5

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.1

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.7
Excellent
October 13, 2014
profil
Mr. John Fry
Ellicott City , Maryland

11-day Italian Campaign review

Weather forecasts for area visiting

Not a single bad meal

With the exception of the Cassino guide all the guides were excellent

We got lost several times, but it appears everyone does in Italy

Easy to book. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

This is a new tour and I think it needs some more fine-tuning.

Details...

Customer service
9.0

Hotel
7.2

Meals
10.0

Sights
7.0

Guide
7.7

Transportation
8.0

Procom overall
8.0

8.1
Very Good
October 13, 2014
profil
Mr. Philip Dardeau
Washington, Louisiana

11-day Italian Campaign review

Most of the hotels were nice. Spotty internet service, except at the Cassino hotel

All meals very good. If anything maybe too much. It may be a good idea to have either pasta and a salad for the noon meal. The breakfast at the hotels had many choices and the dinner meals were also very good

All of the guides were top notch. Our guides in Rome and the Vatican were very knowledgeable. It made me realize that my background in art and history were lacking

All of the sights were very good. In the future you may eliminate two museums- the one that had the fire (rude people) and the museum that had the guide speaking in English over the Italian taped message. The sound quality was not good and I did not hear anything.

For the most part we used the Bus/Van and our driver Arpad was excellent.

Very good

Yes. Since several of the people on this tour have made trips with you in the past that should be a good recommendation in itself.

Details...

Customer service
8.0

Hotel
7.0

Meals
8.0

Sights
7.9

Guide
8.6

Transportation
8.0

Procom overall
8.0

7.9
Good
October 13, 2014
profil
Mr. Brian Martucci
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio

11-day Italian Campaign review

Awesome guides and program!!

everything was as laid out in the emails sent prior to trip

Lunch and Dinner were first rate!

All guides were excellent

All sights were spectacular!!

Guides were the best!!

Fantastic - would highly reccomend!

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
9.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
10.0

Guide
9.2

Transportation
9.5

Procom overall
10.0

9.7
Excellent
May 9, 2014
profil
Mr. Donald Medine
Gilmanton, New Hampshire

11-day Italian Campaign review

Procom agents are thorough and make tours simple and comfortable.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
9.0

Meals
9.0

Guide
7.0

8.8
Very Good
May 9, 2014

Video reviews

Panzer Museum

Central Europe
Remembrance tour

Third Reich Tour

Andrew Meyer and
Shannon Minnett

Darrell Downs

Passengers from 2012

D-Day and beyond

Patricia Francoeur and
Terry Brown

Nancy Poll

Christina Hefel