Read history tour reviews

Welcome to this page dedicated to the hundreds of reviews that passengers of Procom's Beyond Band of Brothers Tours have left over the years. The reviews are listed most current to oldest, but you can also filter to show comments in each category they rated or by the type of the tour as well.


To contact the passenger who authored a particular review, simply click on the “please, put me in touch” button and fill out the form on the following page. We will contact you directly with details shortly afterwards. Feel free to contact more than one author.


We firmly believe that where you go becomes who you are and look forward to welcoming you on one of our historical tours in the future.


Travel with Procom and the rest is history...

profil
Mr. Charles Campbell
Hartsdale, New York

11-day Eastern Front review

Need more time to see this. Should do both inside and outside of the museum.

First rate guide!

Food was excellent. Sometime the service was a little off. Always friendly.

True gentleman.

Crazy landing at Volgograd! Lol

Always a first rate Tour!

Great way to see Russia!

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
9.3

Meals
10.0

Sights
10.0

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.9
Excellent
September 27, 2018
profil
Ms. Susan Martin
Methuen, Massachusetts

11-day Eastern Front review

Very well run tour with a good itinerary. Would recommend your tour to anyone who has a great interest in the eastern front WWII history.

Details...

Customer service
8.0

Hotel
8.0

Meals
9.0

Sights
7.8

Guide
7.0

Transportation
7.2

Procom overall
9.0

8
Very Good
September 9, 2018
profil
Mr. Christopher Martin
Methuen, Massachusetts

11-day Eastern Front review

very good food, could do with a little less though.

Victor was very friendly, knowledgeable, and also willing to also learn about the west.

The Procom Eastern Front Tour was excellent, certainly a lot of history an d very friendly people along the way. I would recommend if you are a history buff or want to learn more about or experience the real Russia

Details...

Customer service
8.5

Hotel
9.3

Meals
9.0

Sights
9.0

Guide
10.0

Transportation
8.5

Procom overall
9.5

9.1
Excellent
September 9, 2018
profil
Mr. David Martin
Methuen, Massachusetts

11-day Eastern Front review

Would have liked to have more time in the museum (perhaps an inside tour also)

We could have spent less time here

Very nice tour, very informative. Perhaps ending the trip in Moscow would have been better, since we didn't want to carry the souvenirs on the whole trip, we missed the best spot to buy them. Perhaps fly into Volgograd, then to St. Petersburg, then Moscow. Additionally, all flights out of Russia go through Moscow. Finally, it would have been nice to know that Russia does not know about TSA compliant locks, as our luggage was damaged when they cut off locks that they should have had inspection keys to.

Details...

Customer service
9.5

Hotel
9.0

Meals
8.0

Sights
8.9

Guide
9.0

Transportation
8.5

Procom overall
9.0

8.8
Very Good
September 9, 2018
profil
Ms. Laura Layton
Vienna, Maryland

11-day Eastern Front review

We traveled with you on the THird Reich TOur two years ago.

The tour was very thorough and highly informational. My husband absolutely enjoyed every minute of the trip. I was not so thrilled, but glad that my husband enjoyed it. The accomodations in St. Petersburg and Moscow were stunning. I thoroughly enjoyed them.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
9.0

Meals
7.0

Sights
8.9

Guide
10.0

Transportation
9.5

Procom overall
8.5

9
Excellent
September 7, 2018
profil
Mr. Larry Brown
Lilburn, Georgia

11-day Eastern Front review

Very thorough.

All hotels were very nice and comfortable. The one in Moscow was particularly impressive.

I couldn't understand the tour guide, but the boat trip was very nice and I enjoyed the sights. I wish I had known what I was looking at, however.

Excellent

Very good. Again, I had some difficulty understanding the tour guide. Her voice was a little quiet.

Excellent

Excellent - wish we had more time here.

Excellent, but I would have traded time riding the metro for more time at the Great Patriotic War museum.

Tank museum was excellent. River cruise on Volga was very nice, but I didn't know what most of the sights were.

Very good, but we didn't spend much time at any of these

Very impressive

Excellent

Oleg was great. I would love to go on a tour with Oleg again.

All meals were very good. I would have preferred to eat dinner other than the hotel every night in St. Petersburg and Volgograd, however. Food was good, but would have enjoyed trying some local restaurants.

Victor was very pleasant and helpful at all times. Very professional.

I am 6'4" and ended up in a middle seat so wasn't very comfortable

No problems

The tour went very well

I enjoyed the tour very much. The sights we saw were very interesting, the guides were great, and I learned a lot.

Details...

Customer service
8.0

Hotel
10.0

Meals
9.0

Sights
9.5

Guide
10.0

Transportation
8.5

Procom overall
10.0

9.3
Excellent
September 7, 2018
profil
Mr. Dennis Billings
Woodbridge, Virginia

11-day Eastern Front review

It is minor, but it would have been great to get positive affirmation that the information I was feeding into "my trip" was being looked at by a human and was "correct" ... for example, my visa details.

I liked the Park Inn and thought it was a good location (I mention this because some of my fellow tourists did not).

I thought Kremlin tour was spot on (right amount of time and supervision).

Would of like some more (and unsupervised) time at Kubinka to explore at my own pace.

I liked the mix of both buffet and alacarte. However, some restaurants took too much time to serve us (they seemed unprepared).

The tour is still maturing so I think it was excellent for it only have been conducted twice. I would recommend because it efficiently took us to all the major sites, and it provided *all* meals, since I was not interested in figuring out my own meals in Russia.

Details...

Customer service
8.5

Hotel
8.7

Meals
8.0

Sights
9.1

Guide
10.0

Transportation
9.0

Procom overall
9.0

8.9
Very Good
September 5, 2018
profil
Ms. Joseph Layton
Vienna, Maryland

11-day Eastern Front review

It was an excellent tour for those of us fascinated with the Great Patriotic war

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
9.3

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.4

Guide
10.0

Transportation
9.0

Procom overall
9.0

9.5
Excellent
September 5, 2018
profil
Mr. Dennis Obermiller
Winter Garden, Florida

11-day Eastern Front review

very professional and thorough in every way helping to set up the tour

Felt prepared and ready to experience the tour

Very nice hotel - happy it was in walking distance to many sites

Comfortable and functional hotel-nice to be near many historical sites

Enjoyable and unique way to see St. Petersburg - very nice!

Bit overwhelming but a nice collection of guns and artillery pieces from various wars

Nice tour - helpful to understand beginning of the revolution

Wonderfully informative and our local guide was fantastic in explaining the area and its history

Awesome museum - would have liked a couple more hours -especially to experience the inside exhibits. Less time on weapons-more of inside maybe (?)

Enjoyed the whole area and the free time to explore and shop

Enjoyed all the river cruises - nice way to see the cities and off the bus

good to see the area - obviously hard to picture the setting with modern city in place but glad we went to the area and size of it

Great to see the river - the heights and especially Paulus' bunker -that was a great tour and definite highlight!

Glad we got to spend time here and see its location

Powerful to experience the eternal flame, changing of the guards and see the graves of Chuikov and Zaitsev on the hill of such ferocious fighting - the statue was amazing and glad we climbed the hill

Terrific tour and guide at the museum - enjoyed it and seeing the mill and site of Pavlov's house

Oleg was fantastic! He was incredibly informative and good humored as well! Did an outstanding job leading and explaining at each site as well as answering questions. Very open to talking about Russia in general and giving his opinions. Couldn't have asked for a better guide!

Meals were always of good quality and provided nice taste of Russian foods and drink. The St Petersburg hotel got a bit tiresome as we spent a lot of time there - maybe nice to find a local restaurant for one or two meals to change it up a bit. Was a lot of same table, staff and choices there. In Moscow and Volgograd, it was better as to variety and menu. Understanding we are in Russia with a very different culture, I thought meals were far above my expectations and appreciated the ala carte choices later in the trip. The restaurant in the Volgograd hotel was very good!

Victor was absolutely awesome! He was very informative and handled the group with extreme professionalism and humor. He handled a couple of "characters" in the group with grace and dignity at times when he must have been quite frustrated. He was extremely open to questions and gave wonderful information and direction throughout. I don't know how you could have picked a better person to guide this tour. Both Victor and Oleg were exceptional in every way - can't say enough good about the job they did!!

Great way to cover a large distance quickly. Nice to not have to bus or take two flights on the tour itself

went fine and best way to get to Stalingrad from Moscow. We covered a lot of territory on the tour - nice to have plane, train and bus in the cities

Clean and comfortable - nice to be able to spread out with a smaller group. thanks for keeping a large coach with a small group - ver comfortable

Drivers were very good and always felt comfortable and safe

Everything was outstanding - from the office staff to the guides to the tour itinerary itself - I couldn't have asked for a better experience form start to finish!

For years, I have read about and studied Russia and its role in World War 2. To have the opportunity to travel there and experience so much was just amazing! Russia itself and the tour and guides exceeded my wildest expectations. I would recommend this tour to anyone - its combination of history, culture and geography added to my understanding of the country and its people in countless ways! Thank you Beyond Band of Brothers for providing this tour and allowing us to experience Russia and its rich history!

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
10.0

Meals
9.0

Sights
9.5

Guide
10.0

Transportation
9.5

Procom overall
10.0

9.7
Excellent
September 5, 2018
profil
Mr. Charles Frey
Great Falls, Montana

11-day Eastern Front review

great guide, very knowledgeable and personable.

excellent manager, very well organized.

great guide, always helpful.

very well organized , everything went very nice.

I would like to have seen maps of closest approach in the Moscow and Leningrad area. I'll recommend to all my friends.

Details...

Customer service
9.0

Hotel
10.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.2

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.7
Excellent
September 13, 2017
profil
Mr. Charlton White
Houston, Texas

11-day Eastern Front review

Fantastic

The meals all seemed pretty much the same standard fare.

Excellent tour for those interested in the Eastern Front and not wanting to brave Russia on their own.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
7.0

Meals
6.0

Sights
8.7

Guide
10.0

Transportation
8.2

Procom overall
10.0

8.6
Very Good
September 8, 2017
profil
Mr. Justin Lay
West Lafayette, Indiana

11-day Eastern Front review

Great tour, it gives you a better idea of Russia's involvement in the war and life in general for them. Mother of Russia statue is a must see.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
10.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
10.0

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

10
Excellent
September 7, 2017
profil
Ms. Marsha Dimel
Belton, South Carolina

11-day Eastern Front review

Loved it.

Best of the three.

Great food.

Too warm.

Too large.

Wonderful.

Very impressive.

Somewhat disappointing - not seeing Lenin's tomb.

I'd had enough tanks by that time.

This was the most impressive point of the entire tour.

Very relaxing.

Super impressed with depth of knowledge. Great dialogue.

Excellent.

She was outstanding. Every detail in place.

Quiet personality but very nice.

Expected more.

Good.

Very good.

I was impressed with their abilities in traffic and tight places. A very good job.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
9.3

Meals
10.0

Sights
8.9

Guide
10.0

Transportation
9.5

Procom overall
9.0

9.5
Excellent
September 5, 2017
profil
Mr. John Dimel
Belton, South Carolina

11-day Eastern Front review

Very nice

Also very nice

Nice, but not as upscale as the other two. However, more than satisfied.

Very good local tour guide

Couldn't see too much because there was an event being staged and on-going construction blocked most views. Nothing you could control, however.

Changing of the guards was fabulous.

Great way to end the tour

Very knowledgeable, aware of surroundings, repeated all questions so everyone could hear, very outgoing. Don't lose him.

All were top, especially the lunches.

Took care of everyone, and looked out for all. She will be a good mother!

Very approachable.

Didn't seem like we were going very fast. However, very nice.

Seemed the quality declined somewhat as we moved south to Volgograd. But perfectly acceptable.

Oleg gave some good advice/heads-up to the drivers.

Couldn't be more satisfied.

To see Mother Russia up close and personal, is a unique experience--especially for those of us who were Cold War government employees.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
10.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.9

Guide
10.0

Transportation
9.5

Procom overall
10.0

9.9
Excellent
September 5, 2017
profil
Ms. Charlotte Marks
Southampton, Massachusetts

11-day Eastern Front review

Loved the Aurora guide, who obviously loved her boat.

Choked with tourists, which of course is no fault of Procom.

Awesome, especially witnessing the changing of the guard.

Oleg was great - enthusiastic and extraordinarily knowledgeable.

I loved Niki's enthusiasm and personal insights.

Victor was friendly, smart and did a great job.

I was impressed with Aeroflot's professionalism.

All of the drivers did a great job, often under very trying circumstances.

I always wanted to visit Russia and was not disappointed. The guides did an incredible job, sharing personal as well as historical insights. I only wish for more hours in each day to see everything I wanted to see.

Details...

Customer service
9.0

Hotel
10.0

Meals
8.0

Sights
9.1

Guide
9.0

Transportation
9.8

Procom overall
10.0

9.3
Excellent
September 5, 2017
profil
Ms. Nancy Prajzner
Southampton, Massachusetts

11-day Eastern Front review

Would have enjoyed longer cruise

Excellent

Extremely helpful

Extremely helpful

It was very good. Would definitely recommend

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
10.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.6

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.9
Excellent
September 5, 2017
profil
Mr. John Beghin
Scottsdale, Arizona

11-day Eastern Front review

No bathroom and seats not very comfortable

Enjoyed tour,but would add Hermitage in St. Petersburg, Lenins tomb in Moscow and drive to Don river battle area in Volgograd

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
9.3

Meals
9.0

Sights
7.6

Guide
10.0

Transportation
8.8

Procom overall
8.3

9
Excellent
September 5, 2017
profil
Ms. Caroline Minnehan
Newark, Delaware

11-day Eastern Front review

always helpful, and always quick to answer any and all questions I have

wish we could have seen Lenin's tomb but not the tours fault, due to a military parade being rehearsed

Wonderful food, wish we had some more traditional Russian food, but the ability to order from the menu was good, the food was so much better then it was in the 90's when I was last in Russia

Awsome, so helpful and always checking on to make sure that everyone was ok, very understanding about mobility problems, always made me feel like she was happy I was on the tour

very helpful

I'm beyond pleased with the service provided by Procom, this is my second tour with them and already looking for my next tour. As a single women taking tours like this I have never felt unwelcome with Procom unlike another tour company I have traveled with in the past. Everything form getting information about tours to booking and everything beyond is wonderful.

I was very happy with this tour, we saw places that you wouldn't be able to see if you went on your own, I would highly recommend this tour to all my history buff friends, I didn't know a lot about the Eastern front of WW2 but I didn't feel left behind and I learned so much. Highly recommened

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
8.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.5

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.6
Excellent
September 4, 2017
profil
Ms. Denise Beghin
Scottsdale, Arizona

11-day Eastern Front review

No problems

Very good

Excellent. Exceptional breakfast

Would prefer more central location

Excellent. Had the answer to every question. Easy to understand. Very interesting to listen to

All breakfasts excellent. Lunches and dinners mostly average. Love included soft drinks, one alcoholic beverage and water on bus. Very nice touch

Excellent. Very organized and detail oriented

Very good to have translater on board

Busses very comfortable

I was very pleased with tour. Even with limited military interest I am glad I went. The information was presented in a way I could learn. It was an interesting group to travel with

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
9.0

Meals
6.0

Sights
7.6

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

8.9
Very Good
September 3, 2017
profil
Mr. Timothy Miller
Gilbert, Arizona

11-day Eastern Front review

Procom treats me like royalty.

Good food. Nice room, but it was sooo warm at night. I prefer a cool room for sleeping.

Great room with a huge tub. Room temperature was cool at night. Decent food but the dining room was sooo busy and they hesitated to bring out more food when they ran out. Elevators were really slow.

Nice room. Room temperature at night was ok. And the food was really good!

Worth seeing. Wish the exhibits had had English captions. Could barely understand the guide.

Enjoyed this visit. Guide somewhat easier to understand.

I loved this. Very pleasant cruise. Beautiful city.

Worth seeing, but the guide was very difficult to understand.

Loved this stop. What an amazing story!

A pretty rocky start. A lot of wasted time. Enjoyed the visit. Wish we had had more time. There were more English captions.

Beautiful. Very beautiful. Wish Red Square hadn't been closed.

I liked seeing the tanks, but the tour was much too long.

Not much to see here, but I think it was worth stopping.

Very pleasant city. Could have spent another day here.

Worth stopping for, but not much to see.

WOW!! The most amazing part of the entire tour!!! Breathtaking.

Very enjoyable. So much to see here. The panorama was amazing. English captions would have brought more of the exhibits to life.

So, so. Would have loved to have been able to get inside the factories.

Very pleasant.

Loved him! Absolutely loved him!

Very good. Wished we had had some dinners out in St. Petersburg.

Love this lady! She enjoys her work and it shows.

Victor did a very good job. He was very helpful. Did not seem very comfortable with his English. But that's coming from someone who can only speak English.

A lot of fun. Very comfortable.

It was ok. About as good as any flight I've taken (none of them are much fun.

It was ok. Had trouble hearing some times. A bit warm at times. Would love it if you had some Gatorade on the bus.

I felt very comfortable, safe with their driving.

Second to none!

Overall, it was a wonderful tour. Extremely well planned. Kudos to Charlie, Niki, and Victor! I learned so much. Saw things I only dreamed of ever seeing. We saw a lot in the relatively short time we were there. I see Russia in a different light now. You've got to continue to use Oleg. And his English is excellent.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
8.0

Meals
8.0

Sights
7.6

Guide
10.0

Transportation
7.8

Procom overall
9.3

8.7
Very Good
September 3, 2017
profil
Mr. Gary Costigan
Fort Worth, Texas

11-day Eastern Front review

Booking for each of the tours I've taken has been easy

The tour brochure is full of great information and covers in detail the tour itineraries

Beautiful modern hotel, great staff, food was great, if I return some day I'd stay at this hotel again.

Was disappointed with the Hilton, overall room was nice but seemed outdated, bath towels were old and rough, housekeeping didn't replace bath gel, food selection for dinner was limited and ran out just as we started one evening. Traffic nightmare getting to and from hotel on tour days. Would recommend finding a different hotel in Moscow for future tours.

Nice modern hotel, good location, nice staff, and German restaurant was great! If I return to Volgograd I stay at this hotel again.

Good historical museum covering the siege

Place had some great military hardware and other exhibits

Enjoyed seeing the city from the canals.

Good history about the ship

The museum gave great insight to the ice roads!

Very nice, had some great paintings and exhibits

It was a nice day, unfortunate Red Square was closed. Would recommend tour purchase tickets in advance for those who would like to tour the Armory. A few of us tried after lunch only to find out there were limited number of tickets sold each day and were sold out.

WOW!!! So many great tanks!

Nice park

Nice walk after lunch

Nice stop

This was something to see in person!

Great exhibits, the panorama painting was amazing!

Interesting sites

Nice cruise, maybe do this on the arrival day after lunch, and then do the walk to the hotel.

Oleg was a walking historical encyclopedia! He made the tour with his knowledge, I learned a lot from his talks!!

The meals were nice, but maybe try and add something different like an Italian meal or good old hamburger for lunch once or twice. The usual chicken or fish was getting old by day 7.

Niki did a great job!! Handling a group of 28 is like herding cats, Niki kept us informed and on track each day, all with a smile on. Thanks for a great tour!

Victor did a nice job and was helpful when I had a question or needed something. Thanks Victor!

Train ride was nice, but not a lot to see. Maybe look at flying which would provide more time for the Patriotic Museum.

Nice flight

Buses were nice and comfortable

Drivers did a great job getting us around town.

As always Procom delivered a great tour as outlined in the brochure. Already looking forward to a tour next year!

This tour gave me a better understanding of what took place in Russia during the war. As I've told friends, we are all familiar with the U.S. participation in WWII starting in 1943, but to see what took place in Russia starting in 1941 gave me a new perspective of the war. I leaned a lot on this tour! My only recommendation would be to hold the tour a little later, maybe late September early October so It's not so hot, and attractions in Moscow not crowded with school kids and tourists!! :-)

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
8.0

Meals
8.0

Sights
8.8

Guide
10.0

Transportation
8.0

Procom overall
10.0

9
Excellent
September 1, 2017
profil
Mr. John Fry
Ellicott City, Maryland

11-day Eastern Front review

Great communication and feedback

Excellent step-by-step instructions and information

Great boutique hotel but tied to international chain so best of both worlds. Friendly service and excellent room and food.

What a neat iconic and historic hotel. Good food and service.

Great location, food and service.

Great local museum

So many cannon, etc...

Great way to see an overview of the area

Such a cool ship; wish we would have had access to a little more of it

Very cool place to visit

Neat collection but we could have used more guidance on what to see and where

Red Square was temporarily closed with a temporary stadium built on the grounds but since it is the 100th anniversary of the revolution I could understand it

Great place; traffic issues caused us to lose some time I wish we could have spent here but out of your control

Nice collection of items

Many different items to see

Very imposing

Amazing

Best panorama I have ever seen

I wish more was preserved and open to the public

Great cruise; I would have liked to do it on our 1st day

Oleg was a top-notch guide

This is my 3rd trip with you all and, after well-over 100 meals (B-L-D) provided I have not had a single bad one yet. Good mixture of local items and standard fare/comfort foods. I gained a few pounds again even with all the walking!

Very caring and on top of things at all times.

Very nice and helpful.

Great train, seats, service, view, etc...

Decent flight

Coaches all had A/C and bottled water. Trip did not lend itself to using the same coach each time which was a drawback.

Good drivers

Top-notch from beginning to end

A great look both at WWII in Russia but also behind the scenes a bit about the ongoing changes in their country. There casualty numbers in WWII were staggering, but being there in person really brought that point home. The trip is something we all should do and experience first hand.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
8.7

Meals
10.0

Sights
8.9

Guide
10.0

Transportation
8.5

Procom overall
9.3

9.3
Excellent
August 30, 2017
profil
Ms. Donna Potruch
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania

11-day Eastern Front review

Niki is a real asset to your company. She helped me so much, and really wanted me to be able to join the trip when my plane was delayed.

Good advice about getting Russian VISA, referral to travel agent was helpful.

Beautiful, good location, great food.

Less convenient for walking in downtown, but close to rail line. Beautiful inside and good food.

Very nice hotel, clean and the food was delicious. Good location.

Missed this museum

Alot to see and I enjoyed the extra exhibits.

Gorgeous day and a good way to see St. Petersburg.

Very well done.

Very nice museum, but many areas were not accessible for people with walkers/wheelchairs.

Very interesting despite huge crowds. Free time was good.

Interesting to see so many prototype vehicles.

A very different city from the others, so it was valuable to learn about its importance.

Amazing and beautiful memorial park.

Panorama Museum was very good with interesting displays.

Always enjoy the river cruises.

Excellent guide, both in his WWII knowledge and also history of Russia. Personable and easy to talk with. Really increased my knowledge of Russia.

Great food, especially the more local places where we could have traditional Russia style food.

Organized, always cheerful, handled a large group easily. Went out of her way to help me with flight problems. Could not believe this was her first trip to Russia.

Worked very well with Niki to provide a good, organized trip. Enjoyed his perspective on Russian things and he helped me with some language questions.

Went smoothly.

East trip.

Comfortable.

Did their best despite awful traffic and very small streets in Volgograd.

Always five star in my opinion.

I learned a great deal about Russian history, the people, and life before and after the breakup of the USSR. This was in addition to a solid program of WWII information. I have recommended your tour to many people, and I am confident that your company always provides excellent service. I knew that if I ever went to Russia that I could trust BBOB. I am very grateful to your company for all my European experiences.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
10.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
8.6

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.8
Excellent
August 29, 2017
profil
Mr. James Haggerty
Kingston, Pennsylvania

11-day Eastern Front review

If you know about the siege, the information is a little too basic. Wished the guide had spent more time on what's in the collection, rather than just telling the story of the siege.

Way too much time spent here. Better spent across the street at the Peter and Paul Fortress.

Maybe the best thing we did in St. Petersburg.

Didn't go to this.

Worth the trip. We should have left earlier in the morning and gotten back sooner. The stop at the Children's Memorial didn't add a lot.

Disappointing. A great memorial, but the museum didn't have an organizing theme and just appeared to be a bunch of stuff in display cases. We spent way too much time outside looking at the vehicles, planes, ships, and mock fortifications.

Fabulous. Best part of Moscow. Not sure why we didn't go in to St. Basil's. Glad we went on the subway a few times.

Overrated. The tank collection, as far as WW II tanks go, is lacking. Wishing we had more history of things that happened on the Moscow-Minsk highway (Napoleon, 1941 offensive, etc.) and maybe stopped at some other places rather than all morning in the museum. Also, we should have left earlier to beat the traffic and to get more in during the day.

It isn't really the closest German approach. Took way too long to get to, and way too long to get back to hotel. Basically, just a couple more tanks and artillery pieces, and we've already seen enough of those.

Feeling like we saw most of the important sights. Wished we had driven out to Kalach or had at least gone out to see the steppe on the ground.

It's a must stop, but not a lot to see. I wish we had been able to stop somewhere to get a look at Tsaritsyn Gorge. It was a very important feature and was the German boundary between armies. Would have liked to have a better look rather than just going over the bridge.

Maybe the best war memorial I've seen. A must stop and worth all the time we spent there.

Best museum on the trip. The museum guide was great. Saw a lot of neat items in the collection. The flour mill is must see, and this led to a pleasant walk back to the hotel.

We had to go these places, although just being on the banks of the Volga in this area was more important than seeing the rebuilt factory exteriors.

Cruise was interesting, but wished we could have approached the eastern bank more to get an appreciation on the width of the river (the islands are in the way.).

Oleg is the best. MVP. Not just about the sights, but about Russian life and history in general. He made the trip.

Niki kept things under control and somehow kept a sunny, positive attitude the whole time!

Victor is a gentlemen and a great guy, but he needs to be more assertive with the group.

The train experience was fun, including the stations.

I liked Aeroflot and thought the service was reasonably good.

Can we find a way to keep the water cold? A cooler, perhaps?

The tour was excellent. We saw a lot of places during a fairly quick tour. I think we should have had a guided tour of the Hermitage and a look inside St. Basil's. Also, more about the Minsk-Moscow highway and a drive out into the steppe would have been nice. Overall, a well-organized, worthwhile trip.

Details...

Customer service
8.5

Hotel
6.0

Meals
7.0

Sights
6.5

Guide
10.0

Transportation
8.8

Procom overall
9.0

8
Very Good
August 29, 2017

Video reviews

Panzer Museum

Central Europe
Remembrance tour

Third Reich Tour

Andrew Meyer and
Shannon Minnett

Darrell Downs

Passengers from 2012

D-Day and beyond

Patricia Francoeur and
Terry Brown

Nancy Poll

Christina Hefel